Programme Overview & Areas of Studies PDF Print

Programme Overview

The Postgraduate Programme of the Faculty of Social and Education Policy, established in 2007, leads to a Postgraduate Diploma of Specialisation (Metaptychiako), a second cycle degree equivalent to a Master’s Degree, in four areas of studies:

  • Educational Programmes and Materials: Formal, Informal and Distance Learning (conventional and e-learning forms)
  • Institutions and Health Policies
  • Social Discrimination, Migration and Citizenship
  • European Social Policy

The Programme is addressed to scientists and professionals wishing to pursue further studies and careers in the offered areas of specialization. The Programme is designed

  • to provide in depth knowledge of the chosen area of specialisation
  • to develop students’ theoretical knowledge and understanding of conceptual and methodological tools
  • to enhance students’ ability to assess, evaluate and use contemporary related research findings
  • to promote basic and applied research in the fields of social and education policy.

The Programme focuses on core components and cutting edge issues in each of the areas of specialisation, making extensive use of case studies from both contemporary Greek and the wider European context. By employing the most up-to-date learning technologies and having a student-oriented approach, the Programme offers students a high quality learning environment to acquire expertise and a specialized professional qualification for careers in the public and private sector, and prepares them for doctoral studies.

The Faculty of Social and Education Policy has a prominent international orientation. During their studies, postgraduate students have the opportunity to attend lectures by invited speakers from abroad, conferences and various other events. Bilateral agreements offer to the postgraduate students the opportunity to implement part of their studies in collaboration with European universities and/or research institutions through the Erasmus placement programme.

Structure of the Programme

The postgraduate programme leads to a leads to a Postgraduate Diploma of Specialisation (Metaptychiako), corresponding to 90 ECTS credits assigned as follows:

1st semester taught courses: 30 ECTS credits

2nd semester taught courses: 30 ECTS credits

Master thesis: 30 ECTS credits

The Programme starts in October each academic year. Each semester comprises 15 weeks. The courses are organized in Thematic Units and can be taught in Greek or English.

Programme requirements

This is a full time Programme, but there is the option of suspension of studies for a maximum of two semesters under specific terms and conditions.

Students are required to attend all courses in two semesters, to actively participate and successfully complete their learning tasks, exercises, individual and group assignments, research projects, exams etc.
Master thesis: The thesis is a complete research project carried out under the supervision of one of the faculty members. It involves the identification of the research topic/problem to be addressed, a review of literature on the existing state-of-the-art and the design and implementation of an original study. The thesis needs to include the description of the research area and the problem under study, the design and methodology used in the research, the analysis and presentation of the results, and the final conclusions. The thesis is evaluated by a three-member Committee (consisting of the thesis supervisor and two faculty members) after public presentation.

Student evaluation

Student evaluation for the taught courses is conducted in a variety of ways (written assignments, participation, individual and group projects, portfolio assessment, and examinations).


The Postgraduate Programme operates according to the Greek Law for postgraduate studies. The Coordinating Committee, consisted of four faculty members, one for each specialisation, is responsible for coordinating and monitoring the whole Programme. The Director and the members of the Coordinating Committee of the Postgraduate Programme of Studies are appointed by the General Assembly of the Faculty.